Venture capital investments in Sierra On-line

HOME Forums Ken Williams Questions and answers / Thanks Forum Venture capital investments in Sierra On-line

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Unknown,Unknown
      Participant

Dear Ken,

I am a business school professor doing a fairly big research project that compares the ways in which the growth of high-tech companies has been financed in different countries. The project is focusing on video game software companies in the US, Japan, France, and Britain. A short (preliminary)paper on French and British firms, which appeared in a book called Secrets of the Game Business, can be found at http://faculty.insead.edu/lazonick/papers/TheEuropeanChallengeArticle.pdf. 

My colleague Mary O’Sullivan and I have gathered lots of information on the growth of Sierra from its founding, and this website has been very helpful. We don’t, however, have much good information on the involvement of venture capitalists in the company. From Securities Data Company we know that there was a total of $8.24 million in vc funds invested in Sierra, involving, among others, General Atlantic Partners, TA Associates, Harbour Vest Partners, and Early Stages Company. But we would actually like to know the amounts that each vc put in, the timing and rounds of investments, the importance of vc funds relative to internally-generated funds as well as individual investors, the distribution of ownership, etc. I wonder whether you would be able to share some of this information with us.

Yours,
      Bill Lazonick
      william.lazonick@insead.edu

• #24562 Reply
      Unknown,Unknown
      Participant