Sierra History Questions for Ken

HOME Forums Ken Williams Questions and answers / Thanks Forum Sierra History Questions for Ken

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Unknown,Unknown
      Participant

Sorry, I posted this earlier in the wrong thread.

Hello Ken,

Currently, I am a student majoring in illustration. As a current project for my Computer Art class, I am researching game art from Sierra games as they are the first form of Computer Art, and eventually led to actual paintings used in games (i.e. Lord of the Dead from KQ6). It’s amazing that every single person in my class remembers these games and are intrigued at my research and artwork I’ve designed. I have found a little information on the net such as a Mark Crowe interview and also a little info in the Sierra Newletters I’ve found on the net. If you had time, I had a few questions and would also appreciate some help as to where else to find information regarding the early Sierra games. The questions I have are:
      (1) Was AGI designed by Sierra and if so who? Was it vector based like SCI?
      (2) Were there any qualifications you had for your artists in the early days? Was computer experience needed?
      (3) I understand the artists worked with hand drawn sketches when creating images for games such as King’s Quest IV. Were these sketches scanned in and traced over with vector lines or just used as simple reference?