Raised on Sierra- it introduced me to the computer world

HOME Forums Ken Williams Questions and answers / Thanks Forum Raised on Sierra- it introduced me to the computer world

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Unknown,Unknown
      Participant

Firstly, allow me to personally say that if it is convenient, I would be most honoured to get a hello from Ken himself. This is my first time posting here, and the knowledge that this was actually read by Ken Williams would be similar to a fan of Tolkein getting a response to a letter from the master himself (well, back during his day, that is.) I hope that this story of my interactions with Sierra adds to the “history” of the site, as well.

I am twenty four years old, and my first real experience with computers was back around 1989 at a friend’s house- his Dad worked at Hewlet Packard, and so he had a simple HP computer. On it, I experienced my first PC game ever: Kings Quest IV, the Perils of Rosella. Of course, as it was my friend’s computer I had to struggle for time to play it myself, but I was fascinated. If this was what computer games were like, then my Nintendo could go sink in the lake! He introduced me to that game, and to KQ 2 and 3, and as soon as my Father bought our own IBM PS2 I quickly searched for our own game and started with the Black Cauldron. I began to get the Sierra Newsletter and was quite excited to find that the author of these wonderful games, Roberta, had a son around my age- and as time went on, he too wrote some articles in the magazine. I quickly acquired all of the Kings Quest series to that point, and onwards as they came out (eventually ending at Kings Quest 7), and upon getting Quest for Glory I, I was completely enamoured with the series. I went after many Sierra games, but those two series truly captured my interest. My entire childhood, my imagination and play with my younger sister (two years my junior) was shaped by my new Sierra-oriented world.