Game Title:
Quest for Glory V:  Dragon Fire
Release Date: xx-xx-1998
Release Number:
Part of Series: Quest for Glory
Previous Game in Series: Quest for Glory IV: Shadows of Darkness
Designer: Lori and Corey Cole

Dragon Fire is final game in the Quest for Glory series, as well as the final game from the 'original' Sierra On-Line (renamed Yosemite Entertainment). The Hero journeys to the Greece-like land of Silmaria to investigate an assassination and prevent a Dragon from destroying the land. He may also wind up as the new King of Silmaria. Many old friends make appearances. The game features panoramic hand-drawn backgrounds, three-dimensional characters, and a fully orchestrated score.  (From Mobygames description)

Alternate Releases:


Roberta Williams, who designed Sierra's first game, Mystery House in 1980, felt it was time to write another murder mystery which lived up to the computer capabilities of the late eighties. Mystery House, which was put on public domain in 1988, was the first computer game ever with graphics, but it lacked colors, animation and sound. The Colonel's Bequest was developed, using EGA graphics, Sierra's SCI engine, sound and a music score, as well as featuring a deeper plot and more detailed character descriptions.

The game has a sequel, The Dagger of Amon Ra, which is also the last Laura Bow game. Both games are also included in the 1997 King's Quest Collection and the Roberta Williams Anthology. Although the original release of The Colonel's Bequest can still relatively easily be found on online auctions, a complete original game is considered as a true collector's item, as it contains many goodies which are often missing from second-hand sales, particularly the Laura Bow pen and notebook. The games copyright protection is also quite original: the gamer needs to use a magnifying glass (included in the box) to identify a fingerprint on the game screen.