Game Title:
Daryl F. Gates Police Quest: Open Season
Release Date: xx-xx-1993
Release Number:
Part of Series: Police Quest
Previous Game in Series: Police Quest 3: The Kindred
Next Game in Series: Police Quest: S.W.A.T.
Designer: Daryl F. Gates

As a LAPD homicide detective, you must find the serial killer loose on the streets. The killings seem random and clues, some valuable and some not, must be collected with true to life police procedure.  (From Mobygames description)

Alternate Releases:

Police Quest 4 History

Daryl says:
Interview in Computer Gaming World (1993)

Ken says:

Roberta Williams, who designed Sierra's first game, Mystery House in 1980, felt it was time to write another murder mystery which lived up to the computer capabilities of the late eighties. Mystery House, which was put on public domain in 1988, was the first computer game ever with graphics, but it lacked colors, animation and sound. The Colonel's Bequest was developed, using EGA graphics, Sierra's SCI engine, sound and a music score, as well as featuring a deeper plot and more detailed character descriptions.

The game has a sequel, The Dagger of Amon Ra, which is also the last Laura Bow game. Both games are also included in the 1997 King's Quest Collection and the Roberta Williams Anthology. Although the original release of The Colonel's Bequest can still relatively easily be found on online auctions, a complete original game is considered as a true collector's item, as it contains many goodies which are often missing from second-hand sales, particularly the Laura Bow pen and notebook. The games copyright protection is also quite original: the gamer needs to use a magnifying glass (included in the box) to identify a fingerprint on the game screen.